PRIZE MONEY

First Prize ₹ 50,000/-(Fifty thousand rupees per team)

Second Prize ₹ 30,000/-(Thirty thousand rupees per team)

Third Prize ₹ 10,000/- each to two teams

All participants will be given participation certificates

REGISTRATION DETAILS

- + The deadline for registration and payment of registration fee is before 31st January, 2024
- Spot registration is not allowed
- + Registration fee per team is ₹ 1,000 /- (One thousand rupees inclusive of food)
- + For payment log onto https://admission.sjctni.edu/Commerce/JCCD
- + For Registration https://forms.gle/HjVmZBNiMMdApBfq8

PATRONS

Rev. Dr. Pavulraj Michael SJ- Rector

Rev. Dr. K. Amal SJ - Secretary

Rev. Dr. M. Arockiasamy Xavier SJ - Principal

CORE COMMITTEE

Dr. F. R. Alexander Pravin Durai Head, Department of Commerce Rev. Fr. M .Berchmans SJ Dr.V. Bastin Jerome Organising Secretaries

JUBILEE COMMITTEE

Dr.M.Antony Jesuraja Dr.Francis Vijayakumar Dr.Arockiarajasekar Dr.S.Aruldass Prof.S.Kirubakaran

The participant in need of accommodation may contact one of the organising secretaries for assistance.



Celebrations of

Diamond Jubilee & Golden Jubilee Shift-I (1948 - 2023) | Shift-II (1973 - 2023)





NATIONAL LEVEL DEBATE

or

"Ethics In Contemporary Business - Myth or Reality"

Prize for Winners



Contact

Rev.Fr.M.Berchmans SJ: +919445103040 Dr.V.Bastin Jerome: +919840553408 Email: comjubilee@mail.sjctni.edu

Date of Event

6th February 2024, 9.00 am Venue : Jubilee Hall, SJC Campus

Last Date for Registration 31" January 2024





ration Payme

St. Joseph's College (Autonomous)

25th Rank in NIRF
Special Heritage Status College awarded by UGC
Accredited at A⁺⁺ by NAAC
College with Potential for Excellence
Tiruchirappalli – 620002, Tamil Nadu, South India.

PG AND RESEARCH DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

St. Joseph's College (Autonomous)

25th Rank in NIRF

Special Heritage Status College awarded by UGC

Accredited at A[™] by NAAC

College with Potential for Excellence

Tiruchirappalli – 620002, Tamil Nadu, South India.

Media Partner



ABOUT THE COLLEGE

St. Joseph's College, Tiruchirappalli (SJC), was founded by the Jesuit visionaries in 1844 with the noble aim of educating humanity for the good and the truth as proclaimed by its motto 'Pro BonoEt Vero' (for the Good and the True). SJC serves as a beacon of light for all men and women aspiring to pursue holistic higher education. A pioneering educational institution in central part of Tamil Nadu, SJC has a rich legacy with several illustrious alumni like former President of India and Bharat Ratna Dr.A.P.J.Abdul Kalam, renowned physicist, Prof.G.N.Ramachandran, former Chief Election Commissioner, Shri. N. Gopalaswamy, Member of Constituent Assembly of India Fr.Jerome D'Souza SJ, Vir Chakra Awardee Major M.Saravanan, Advisor to the Governor of Jammu & Kashmir Mr.K.Vijay Kumar IPS, Arjuna Awardee Mr.Arockia Rajeev and many more luminaries passing through its portal of learning.

SJC-MILESTONES & ACHIEVEMENT

- One of the first colleges to be granted autonomy by the UGC in 1978
- Recognized by the UGC as a College with Potential for Excellence in 2004 and again in 2014
- Received DST-FIST fund in 2008 and 2014 and DBT-STAR status in 2014
- Received the coveted honour of the special Heritage Status from the UGC in 2015
- + Reaccredited 'A** Grade (4 Cycle) by NAAC in 2019
- + Secured 25th position in NIRF Ranking in 2023

ABOUT THE DEPARTMENT

The Department of Commerce began its journey in 1948 and crossed several milestones to reach where it is today. It is now in the midst of its diamond jubilee celebration. This department presently offer three-year B.Com degree course with the mission inculcating comprehensive subject knowledge, professional ethics and competency in business and management. Subsequently, the second shift of B.Com programme was launched in 1972. Interestingly, the Shift – II section is now celebrating its golden jubilee year. The department which specialises in preparing students for professional courses such as CA, CMA and ACS through feeder courses introduced M.Com degree programme in 1988. The department was elevated as PhD Research Department in 2003 and has since produced several Ph.Ds holders.

The department reached yet another milestone by launching ACCA, UK integrated, university approved B.Com Honours programme in 2020.

To commemorate the jubilee year, the department is poised to launch two new programmes, viz, B.Com (Business Analytics) in tie-up with Institute of Analytics, UK and B.Com Strategic Finance- US CMA.

ABOUT THE DEBATE

As part of Jubilee Celebrations of Commerce Department, the department is organising a mega National Level Debate on "Ethics in Contemporary Business – Myth or Reality" in Lincoln-Douglas debate format i.e. one on one debate. The competition strives to provide opportunity to students to develop and showcase their orating skills, Logical and critical thinking abilities.

WHO CAN PARTICIPATE?

- Undergraduate and postgraduate students of Arts and Science Colleges,
 Universities, Engineering colleges and Business Schools are eligible. ID
 card and letter from the Principal / HOD is mandatory for participation.
- Only one team consisting of two students from a College or University can participate.
- + Medium of debate is English.
- Participation order will be decided by drawing of lots.

RULES FOR PRELIMINARY ROUND

- Preliminary Round will take place in the morning of 06th February 2024 at 9.30am.
- The teams must report at jubilee hall by 9.15am sharp.
- Each team will consist of two members only.
- Every member will be given three minutes to debate.
- At the end of the debate, leaders of proposition and opposition get two minutes each to rebut.
- A panel of two judges will adjudge the winner. The decision of the judges is final.
- At the end of prelims, five teams will be shortlisted for final round of debate.

RULES FOR THE FINALS

- + Topics will be given one hour prior to the final round of debate.
- + Each member will be given five minutes to debate.
- At the end of the debate, the leader of each team gets three minutes to counter.
- A panel of two judges will adjudge the winner. The decision of the judges is final.