

ICAM 2023 **DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS**

SCHOOL OF PHYSICAL SCIENCES

St. JOSEPH'S COLLEGE (Autonomous)

Special Heritage Status awarded by UGC, Accredited at 'A++' Grade (Cycle-IV) by NAAC College with Potential for Excellence by UGC, DBT-STAR & FIST sponsored College

TIRUCHIRAPPALLI – 620002, INDIA

Organises



(MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY, GOVERNMENT OF INDIA)

SPONSORED

INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON ADVANCED MATERIALS

Dec. 08-09, 2023

ABOUT THE INSTITUTION

St. Joseph's is an autonomous college of the Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli, located in the central part of Tamil Nadu, South India. It was established in 1844 by the Society of Jesus (The Jesuits). The moto of the college is "For the Good and the True". The college celebrated its centenary in 1944, sesqui-centenary in 1995 and Dodransbicentenary in 2019. The college was recognised by UGC as a College with Potential for Excellence (CPE) in 2004 and 2014, NAAC has reaccredited the college at the highest A⁺⁺ Grade (Cycle-IV) in 2019 and is ranked as 25th position in NIRF India rankings 2023 under college category. St. Joseph's is the only college in Tamil Nadu that has been awarded with Special Heritage Status by UGC. The college trains young men and women of quality to be leaders in all walks of life so that they serve the people of the Nation in truth justice and love. Accordingly, this college strives to be an agent of social change, by incorporating the scientific and technological growth in its UG, PG and Research (M.Phil/Ph.D) programmes.

ABOUT THE DEPARTMENT

This century-old Department of Physics started B.A. Physics (1881), B.Sc (Hons.) Physics (1911), B.Sc (1930), M.Sc Physics (1961), Ph.D. (1971) and M.Phil (1977). Other than its own evolution, it had given birth to two departments, Computer science (1983) and Electronics (1993) in the college. To cater the needs of the students, BSc and MSc (Physics) programmes in Self-financing section (shift II) were established in 1982 and in 2004 respectively. Presently there are 31 faculties and 9 non teaching staff in the department. The department is constantly developing with the continuous support of management and the funding of UGC, DST-FIST, DST-SERB, DRDO and CSIR. The department had established national and international collaboration in many fields of research in recent years and organises symposia and conferences periodically at all levels to ignite the students with scientific spirit. Over a period of 140 years, the alumni of the department have served and are still serving the nation in various capacities. Notable among them are Bharat Ratna, Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, the former President of India and Dr G N Ramachandran, an Indian Physicist who was known for his work, "The Ramachandran Plot" for understanding peptide structure, nominated for nobel prize (Doctoral student of Nobel laureate Sir C. V. Raman).

OBJECTIVES OF THE CONFERENCE

Material Science is a multi disciplinary branch of science and technology, investigates the relationship between the structure of materials and their micro/macroscopic properties. In recent years with significant focus on Nano Science and Nanotechnology, Material science becomes a more significant field of science and engineering.

- This conference highlights the fundamentals, synthesis, characterization, analysis and applications of materials
- To create scientific and research temper among the students and researchers through the interaction with the experts in the field
- To provide a platform for researchers to share their knowledge and expertise with other researchers of the field
- To get exposure to the latest developments in the field of material science from scientists and experts

FOCUS AREA OF THE CONFERENCE

This conference focuses on the latest developments on the advanced materials such as Nanomaterials, 2D materials, Composites and Alloys, Semiconductors, Superconductors, Magnetic materials, Soft materials, Laser and Nonlinear optical materials, Organic and Biological materials, Luminescence and Fluorescent materials, Energy and Storage materials.

CALL FOR ABSTRACTS

The organizing committee invites abstracts of experimental or theoretical research in the above mentioned thrust areas from faculty, research scholars and industrialists. The abstract as soft copy (MS-Word - Arial, 12pts & 1 line spacing) have to be sent to the email sicicam2023@gmail.com. Registrations can be done at the college website www.sjctni.edu/icam2023/ on or before 05-12-2023. Best paper presentations (oral/Poster) will be awarded.

ACCOMMODATION

The participants are requested to make their own arrangements for accommodation. A number of hotels are located in and around the campus.

ORGANISING COMMITTEE

Chief Patron: Rev. Dr. Pavulraj Michael SJ, Rector, St. Joseph's College

Patron: Rev. Dr. K. Amal SJ, Secretary, St. Joseph's College

Chairman: Rev. Dr. M. Arockiasamy Xavier SJ, Principal, St. Joseph's College

Convenor: Dr. I. Johnson, Head, Department of Physics

Co-Convenor: Mr. A. Patrick Prabhu, Associate Professor of Physics

Organising Secretary: Dr. P. Christuraj, Associate Professor of Physics

Jt. Organising Secretary: Dr. R. Jerald Vijay, Assistant Professor of Physics Jt. Organising Secretary: Dr. S. Lourduraj, Assistant Professor of Physics

INVITED SPEAKERS

Dr. FRANCA ALBERTINI, IMEM-CNR, Italy

Dr. VINCENT FOURNEE, CNRS, Nancy, France

Dr. MEENAKSHI SINGH, Colorado School of Mines, USA

Dr. N. VIJAYAN, CSIR-National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi

Dr. KIRTI SONI, CSIR-AMPRI, Bhopal

Prof. S. BRAHADEESWARAN, Anna University, Tiruchirappalli

Dr. A MANUEL STEPHEN. CSIR Central Electrochemical Research Institute, Karaikudi

Dr. VANDANA, CSIR-AMPRI, Bhopal

Dr. J. MADHAVAN, Loyola College, Chennai

Dr. SOUMYABRATA ROY, Rice University, USA

Dr. A. DENNYSON SAVARIRAJ, Dongguk University, Seoul South Korea.

Dr. T. C. SABARI GIRISUN, Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli

Dr. DHASIYAN ARUN KUMAR, Nagoya University, Japan

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

CSIR भारत का नवाचार इंजन

The Innovation Engine of India

Dr. I. Johnson

Mr. A. Patrick Prabhu

Dr. B. Kanickairaj Dr. J. Charles

Mr. S. Dominique

Dr. P. Christuraj

Dr. A. Maggie Dayana

Dr. A. Leo Raiesh Dr. M.M. Armstrong Arasu

Dr. A. I. Clement Lourduraj

Dr. M. Antony Arockiaraj

Dr. R. Jerald Vijay

Dr. S. Dinakaran Dr. S. Anbarasu

Dr. A. Antony Raj

Dr. G. Samuel

Dr. H. Joy Prabu

Dr. R. Thomas

Dr. S. Prathap

Dr. S. Lourduraj Mr. P. Adal Arasu

Dr. M. Lawrence

Dr. A. Sinthiva

Ms. B. Mary Dayana Mr. G. Novin Senetra Roy

Dr. M. Augustin Dr. G. Genifer Silvena

Dr. S. Rex Rosario

Dr. A. Alexandar

Mr. D. Joseph James Irudayaraj

REGISTRATION DETAILS

- PG Students: Rs.300/-
- Faculty/Research Scholars: Rs.600/-
- Industrial Persons/others: Rs.1,000/-
- Mode of payment: online through website: www.sjctni.edu/icam2023/
- Spot registration is also allowed for limited participants

IMPORTANT DATES

Abstract submission : Nov. 30, 2023 Acceptance Notification : Dec. 02, 2023

Last date for Registration: Dec. 05, 2023

Mode of Conduct: Hybrid

* FOR FURTHER DETAILS CONTACT

Dr. I. JOHNSON Dr. P. CHRISTURAJ Dr. R. JERALD VIJAY

Tel: +91-431-4226438

Mob: +91-9442904820, 8940911222

9894831396

Email: sjcicam2023@gmail.com www.sjctni.edu/icam2023/